Day 4- Walima

This is coming a full day late as I got swamped in a lot of other plans, but I think my notes will keep me fresh. Its all good.

The day of the walima came, which is basically a sort of debutant ball where the couple is presented to the public as well as a formal dinner where the two families officially welcome each other and become one. Its a slightly less buttoned down affair. The bride and groom were still dressed in their best fineries but it was not nearly as ornate and traditional as the actual wedding. It was an easy relaxed night.

The bride and groom await the arrival of the procession.
The bride and groom await the arrival of the procession.

Awais and Warda made their way into the wedding hall (again located in Lahore Cantonment) in a procession made up of family. We followed them toward yet another stage where a really nicely gilded couch was place. The couple took their place on said couch and awaited the photographers to do their thing.

The procession marching down into the banquet hall.
The procession marching down into the banquet hall.

Both families clustered around the stage to get a chance to be photographed with the two, and it was a mad house. People were so adamant about getting a photo with the newly-weds you could be forgiven for thinking that they were royalty. They sure dressed the part.

Family gathers around the couple to take photos.
Family gathers around the couple to take photos.

I was surprised to meet some relatives who I hadn’t seen for a good 19 years. I have only visited Pakistan twice since moving to Canada, so there are people who I haven’t seen since I was only 9 years old. Its always a surreal moment to see aunts and uncles who were in the prime of their lives when I was young, but now have grey hair and wrinkles.

The night was capped off with some dinner conversations and an endless stream of hugs.

The couple posing for photos while wearing flashing LED glasses.
The couple posing for photos while wearing flashing LED glasses.

There really isn’t much to say about a walima, I realize now.

Leave a comment